BREAKFAST SERIES: Peachy Chia Oatmeal (ft. Goldilocks and the 3 bears)

Well, it certainly has been awhile since I posted in the Breakfast Seriesso what better way than to start the morning with a post about breakfast?

photo 1 (71)

Today’s special feature includes Goldilocks and the three Bears. Its funny how I never realised that the bears in the story were eating oatmeal as well! In my case, I topped my Peachy Chia Oatmeal with three Teddy Grahams, so I guess that makes me Goldilocks!

 goldilocks

Of course, you’ll look much happier than these bears after you make this recipe.

photo 2 (70)

Now, I know many of you are turned off by the idea of oatmeal. The first thought that comes to mind is probably mushy, brown tasteless goo.. or baby food as my friend put it. Well, by adding fruits, topping it with honey, or even stirring an egg in, oatmeal can be really yummy! I used to hate oatmeal when I was younger, taking ages to finish a bowl of it. I dreaded the mornings when I was greeted by a steaming bowl of.. blechh.

But now? I look forward to oatmeal for breakfast! Rolled oats taste way better than instant or quick oats cause they absorb the liquid to form plumper grains, rather than turning into unappetizing mush. My ultimate favorite would be egg white oatmeal with honey. Peanut butter and banana is not a bad combination with oatmeal too! Whatever it is, its about mixing and matching until you find your favorite flavor.

photo 4 (52)

Oatmeal is loaded with nutrients and is bursting with fiber and protein. On a cold and rainy day, there is nothing more comforting than sitting down with a steaming bowl of oatmeal that will start your day right and keep you nice, warm and full.

photo 3 (62)

Yes, yes, I hear you. The recipe, get to the recipe!!

Well, just one more thing… I used a little trick from Chocolate Covered Katie to make my bowl of oatmeal seem larger. Well, actually I first saw this trick on Courtney’s blog  and I was intrigued by it. One thing I love about eating healthy food is that you can eat more.

Peachy Chia Oatmeal
What you’ll need:

1/2 cup rolled oats
1 1/4 cup water/liquid of choice (ie milk)
1 tsp chia seeds
1 diced peach
Dash of cinnamon

Here’s what you need to do:
1) Bring the water to a boil before adding in the rolled oats
2) Once the oatmeal has cooked for awhile, add in the cinnamon, chia seeds and peach.
3) Stir to mix everything up, and then cover and leave it on the stove to set. It may seem like there’s way too much liquid at this point, but trust me, just leave it to set for at least 2 hours or overnight.
4) Just before you want to eat it, just heat it up, and give it a good stir. Feel free to add a drizzle of honey if the fruit doesn’t add enough sweetness for you.
5) Top with anything you like! Teddy Grahams, a spoonful of nut butter, sliced banana, blueberries, jam, the possibilities are endless.
6) Enjoy 🙂

Switch things up!
Here are some other flavor combinations you could try for oatmeal:
Peanut butter & banana
Peanut butter & Jam
Blueberries
Black sesame (I used unsweetened black sesame powder)
Apple pie oatmeal (stir in a diced apple and more cinnamon. Add apple pie spice if you have)
Egg oatmeal (just stir an egg in before serving)

There’s even the savory option:
Soy sauce, spinach oatmeal topped with an egg
Pumpkin and peas oatmeal

photo 5 (40)

Hope you enjoyed this recipe! Feel free to create the wackiest combinations and let me know how it works out for you 🙂

Leave a comment